CLSS-HC logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CLSS-HC Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling

TL;DR
  • The CLSS-HC is administered through NFPA with Prometric testing, so you schedule an appointment rather than waiting for fixed national exam dates.
  • Eligibility runs twelve months with up to three attempts, so your first test date is also your retake planning date.
  • The initial fee is $499; retest and renewal fees are unverified, so confirm them with NFPA before budgeting.
  • The exam is 100 single-answer questions in 3 hours, open book with the permitted printed 2012 NFPA 101.

Why the CLSS-HC Has No Fixed Exam Calendar

Many candidates searching for "CLSS-HC exam dates 2026" expect a published list of national test days, the way some professional exams announce a spring and fall sitting. The Certified Life Safety Specialist for Health Care Facility Managers credential does not work that way in the sources available to us. It is an NFPA program delivered through Prometric, and the program documents we reviewed describe test centers where you book an appointment rather than a single nationwide exam day. We did not find a published list of fixed 2026 testing windows, and you should treat any site claiming one with caution.

What this means in practice is that your "exam date" is whatever appointment slot you secure at a Prometric test center after NFPA approves your application. The real calendar constraints are not seasonal windows but the clock that starts when you are made eligible, the number of attempts you are allowed, and your own readiness. Those constraints are covered in detail below.

Verify before you plan: Program rules can change between handbook editions. The governing documents we located are the 2025 program overview and general handbook. Before committing to a timeline, download the current versions from NFPA and confirm eligibility periods, appointment procedures and fees match what is described here.

The Twelve-Month Eligibility Window and Three Attempts

The most important date-related rule for this credential is the eligibility period: candidates have twelve months of eligibility and up to three attempts. That single sentence shapes your entire scheduling strategy, and it is easy to misread. Twelve months is not a deadline to start studying; it is the span in which all of your attempts must fit.

How to Think About Your Attempts

  • Attempt one is not a diagnostic. With a fee of $499 and a limited number of attempts, treating the first sitting as a practice run wastes both money and a try.
  • Space attempts with a gap for remediation. If you do need a second attempt, you want enough time to rebuild weak domains rather than simply retaking the exam a few days later.
  • Do not book your first attempt at the very end of the window. If you wait until month eleven, a failed first attempt leaves almost no room for another.

A sensible rule of thumb is to place your first attempt well inside the window so that, if needed, a second and even a third attempt remain realistic. Exactly how soon after an unsuccessful attempt you may retest is not something we could verify, so check the handbook for any waiting-period language before you lock in a retake date.

If you are still deciding whether to enter the process at all, the CLSS-HC requirements guide explains who qualifies, and our difficulty guide helps you judge how much preparation time to build into your window.

Scheduling Mechanics: NFPA, Prometric and Test Centers

The sequence generally runs in two stages: you apply to NFPA, and once approved you schedule your seat through Prometric. The specifics of the application portal and approval turnaround should be confirmed in the current handbook, but the logic is stable: approval comes first, scheduling second.

Eligibility Prerequisites to Clear First

The documented baseline is a high-school diploma or equivalent. We found no mandatory NFPA course, no minimum experience-hour requirement and no specified reference count in the governing documents. That is a lower barrier than many candidates assume for a health care life safety credential, but it also means the exam itself, not the paperwork, is the real gatekeeper. For the full picture, see CLSS-HC requirements, eligibility and prerequisites.

Test Center Delivery

The program overview describes test centers. Whether remote or home proctoring is offered for this specific exam is not verified in the materials we reviewed, so do not assume you can test from your office or living room. If you need a particular location, check Prometric's center availability early, because appointment slots near you may not be available on the exact day you prefer.

Book the seat, not just the plan: Because there is no fixed national exam day, availability depends on your local test center's calendar. Looking for open slots as soon as you are approved gives you the widest choice of dates and the most flexibility to pair your appointment with a quiet week at your facility.

Fees and Money Deadlines to Plan Around

The current initial fee is $499. We did not find a documented difference between member and nonmember pricing, so do not budget on the assumption that an NFPA membership reduces this number unless NFPA confirms it. Current retest fees and current renewal fees are unverified; a $180 renewal figure appears only on a September 2022 form, which is too old to rely on. Ask NFPA for the present amounts before you commit to a retake plan.

ItemWhat we can stateWhat to confirm
Initial exam fee$499Whether any member discount applies (none verified)
Retest feeUnverifiedCurrent amount and any waiting period
Renewal feeUnverified; $180 appears only on a September 2022 formCurrent amount and payment timing
Eligibility periodTwelve monthsStart date of the clock in your approval notice
AttemptsUp to threeFee treatment for each attempt

For a broader view of what the credential costs, including study materials and the printed code you will need on exam day, see the CLSS-HC certification cost breakdown.

Backward Planning From Your Test Date

This is the one section where we use a study calendar, and we tie it directly to the exam's domain weights. The two heaviest domains, Protection at 28% and Means of Egress at 22%, together account for 50% of the exam. That is why they belong at the front of any schedule: half the exam rests on them, and they are the areas where a candidate is most likely to be rewarded for deep familiarity with the 2012 NFPA 101.

Weeks 1-3

Protection (28%) and Means of Egress (22%)

  • Work through the code chapters tied to these domains slowly, with your tabbed printed copy open.
  • Practice locating requirements fast; the exam is open book but time still matters.
  • Revisit these domains again later, because they carry half the score.
Weeks 4-5

Operating Features (16%) and Building Services (13%)

  • Cover the operational and systems-focused material that health care managers handle day to day.
  • Cross-check each topic against the health care occupancy provisions of the code.
Week 6

General Requirements (11%) and Special Provisions (10%)

  • Close out the lighter-weighted domains, which are still easy points if you know where to look.
  • Begin full timed practice sets in the 100-question, 3-hour format.
Final stretch

Timed review and appointment lock-in

  • Confirm your Prometric slot well inside your twelve-month window.
  • Finish tab and annotation review, keeping within the program's tab and insert restrictions.

Adjust the length to your own experience. A facilities manager who already works with egress and fire protection systems daily may compress the early weeks, while someone newer to code language may stretch them. The principle holds either way: schedule the exam so that your heavy-weight domains get the most repetition. For a domain-by-domain walkthrough, read the complete guide to all six CLSS-HC content areas and the CLSS-HC study guide.

Key Takeaway

Choose your appointment date by working backward from a realistic study plan, not forward from the first open slot. Leave room inside the twelve-month window for a second or third attempt so a single bad day does not end your eligibility.

What to Expect on Exam Day

Knowing the format helps you pick a sensible appointment time and prepare your materials. The exam consists of 100 single-answer multiple-choice questions delivered in English over 3 hours. NFPA does not disclose how many questions are scored versus unscored, so you cannot assume every item counts, and you should not try to guess which ones are unscored.

The Open-Book Rules

The exam is open book, but the allowance is narrow. You may use the permitted printed code, which is the 2012 NFPA 101 Life Safety Code. The Life Safety Code Handbook is not permitted. Restrictions also apply to tabs and inserts, so do not assume you can load your copy with extensive annotations or loose notes. Read the handbook language on exactly what markings are acceptable well before exam day so you do not have to strip tabs in the parking lot.

  • Bring the right edition. The exam reference is the 2012 edition, not the newest published code.
  • No personal calculator. An on-screen calculator is provided, so practice with a basic one if you expect to compute travel distances or capacities.
  • Pace yourself. Three hours for 100 questions leaves time to look things up, but not unlimited time, so use the code as a verification tool rather than reading chapters on the fly.

The passing cut score is not published by NFPA, and the pass rate is not publicly disclosed. For context on what is and is not known, see our pages on the CLSS-HC passing score and the CLSS-HC pass rate. When you are ready to rehearse the real timing, our CLSS-HC practice tests let you work under the same 100-question, 3-hour constraints.

After You Pass: The Three-Year Renewal Clock

Your own long-term calendar begins once you pass, because the credential is renewed every three years. Renewal requires 10 points, with at least 7 of them coming from training. One contact hour equals one training point, which is not the same as one CEU, so be careful when converting continuing-education records. A course that awards CEUs does not translate one-to-one into renewal points.

Starting a simple log of qualifying activity soon after you certify makes the three-year deadline far less stressful. Because current renewal fees are unverified, check the amount with NFPA as your renewal date approaches rather than relying on older figures. If you are weighing the payoff of the whole process, the ROI analysis and the salary guide cover the career side, and the CLSS-HC jobs overview describes where the credential tends to matter, particularly in health care facilities management and safety roles where life safety compliance is a daily responsibility.

Frequently Asked Questions

Are there fixed CLSS-HC exam dates in 2026?

We did not find published fixed national exam dates. The exam is delivered through Prometric test centers, so candidates schedule an appointment after NFPA approves their application. Confirm current procedures in the NFPA handbook.

How long do I have to pass once I am approved?

Candidates have twelve months of eligibility and up to three attempts. Plan your first attempt early enough in that window that a second or third try remains realistic.

How much does the CLSS-HC exam cost?

The current initial fee is $499, and we found no verified member versus nonmember difference. Current retest and renewal fees are unverified, so ask NFPA for the present amounts before budgeting.

Can I take the CLSS-HC exam from home?

The program overview describes test centers, and home proctoring is not verified in the materials we reviewed. Do not assume remote delivery is available until NFPA or Prometric confirms it in writing.

Which code edition and materials can I bring?

The exam is open book with the permitted printed 2012 NFPA 101 Life Safety Code. The Life Safety Code Handbook is not allowed, tab and insert restrictions apply, and an on-screen calculator is provided instead of a personal one.

Ready to pass your CLSS-HC exam?

Put this into practice with free CLSS-HC questions across every exam domain.