- The Honest Answer: NFPA Does Not Publish a Cut Score
- What Is Actually Known About the Exam
- Why There Is No Public Number and What That Means for You
- Where the Points Live: Domain Weighting
- Open-Book Rules and Their Effect on Scoring
- Question Style: What a Passing Performance Looks Like
- Attempts, Eligibility Windows, and Fees
- Setting Your Own Passing Target
- A Domain-Ordered Preparation Plan
- After You Pass: Renewal Points and Career Use
- Frequently Asked Questions
- NFPA does not publish the CLSS-HC passing cut score, so any specific percentage you see quoted online is unverified.
- The exam has 100 single-answer multiple-choice questions in 3 hours, with the scored/unscored split undisclosed.
- Protection (28%) and Means of Egress (22%) together make up 50% of the exam.
- The exam is open book with the permitted printed 2012 NFPA 101 Life Safety Code, but not the Handbook.
The Honest Answer: NFPA Does Not Publish a Cut Score
If you searched for the CLSS-HC passing score hoping for a clean number such as "you need 70%," here is the straight answer: NFPA does not publish the passing cut score for the Certified Life Safety Specialist for Health Care Facility Managers exam. The program overview and general handbook describe the exam's format, eligibility rules, and policies, but they do not state the score required to pass. Pass rates are likewise not publicly disclosed.
That matters because a lot of exam-prep content invents a confident-sounding threshold. This article will not do that. Instead, it explains what is known, what the missing number implies for how you should prepare, and how to build a personal readiness target that does not depend on a figure NFPA has chosen to keep to itself.
What Is Actually Known About the Exam
While the cut score is undisclosed, the exam's structure is well documented in NFPA's program overview and general handbook. Here is the verified picture:
| Exam Element | What the Documents State |
|---|---|
| Certifying body | NFPA |
| Test delivery | Prometric testing; the program overview describes test centers (home proctoring not verified) |
| Format | 100 single-answer multiple-choice questions |
| Time allowed | 3 hours |
| Language | English |
| Scored vs. unscored items | Split not disclosed |
| Passing cut score | Not published |
| Pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
| Initial fee | $499 (no member/nonmember difference verified) |
| Exam reference | 2012 NFPA 101 Life Safety Code |
| Eligibility window | Twelve months, up to three attempts |
| Minimum education | High-school diploma or equivalent |
Notice what is absent: there is no mandatory NFPA course, no experience-hour minimum, and no reference count specified. For the full eligibility picture, see our guide to CLSS-HC requirements.
Why There Is No Public Number and What That Means for You
Certification programs often withhold cut scores for reasons that are standard across the testing industry. Cut scores may be set through a standard-setting process and can differ between exam forms, and when a portion of items are unscored pilot questions, a raw "number correct" can mean slightly different things on different forms. NFPA has not explained its methodology in the documents reviewed here, so treat any explanation as general industry context rather than a statement about this specific exam.
What this means practically:
- You cannot study to a threshold. Without a published pass line, the only safe strategy is to aim for broad, durable competence across all six domains.
- You cannot count on a "skip" strategy. Some candidates plan to ignore a weak domain and make it up elsewhere. With an unknown cut score and an undisclosed scored/unscored split, that is a gamble.
- Practice scores are indicators, not predictions. A mock-exam result tells you about your readiness, but it cannot be mapped onto an official pass line that does not exist publicly.
For context on how candidates typically experience the difficulty, read How Hard Is the CLSS-HC Exam? and the discussion of what is and is not known in CLSS-HC Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows.
Where the Points Live: Domain Weighting
Even without a cut score, you know where the questions come from. The six domains and their weights are the most concrete scoring information available to you:
| Domain | Weight |
|---|---|
| Protection | 28% |
| Means of Egress | 22% |
| Operating Features | 16% |
| Building Services | 13% |
| General Requirements | 11% |
| Special Provisions | 10% |
Protection (28%)
Protection is the heaviest domain, and for health care occupancies it is where life safety code knowledge turns concrete. Expect questions on the systems and features that keep fire and smoke from spreading and that detect and suppress them: fire-rated barriers, smoke compartments, penetrations, opening protectives, detection, alarm, and suppression requirements. Because health care occupancies rely on a defend-in-place philosophy, you need to understand why compartmentation is emphasized and how the code expects those barriers to perform.
Means of Egress (22%)
Egress questions reward people who can navigate the code quickly and reason about path of travel: exit access, exit, and exit discharge; travel distances; corridor and door requirements; and the way health care settings handle occupants who cannot self-evacuate. These are classic open-book lookup questions where knowing where to find the rule matters nearly as much as knowing the rule.
For a deeper walk through all six areas, see CLSS-HC Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 6 Content Areas.
Open-Book Rules and Their Effect on Scoring
The CLSS-HC is open book, but with firm limits. You may use the permitted printed code, and the exam reference is the 2012 NFPA 101 Life Safety Code. The Life Safety Code Handbook is not permitted. Restrictions also apply to tabs and inserts, so confirm the current rules in the NFPA handbook before you annotate or tab your copy. There is no personal calculator, but an on-screen calculator is available.
What Open Book Does and Does Not Do
An open-book format lowers the memorization burden but raises the speed and navigation burden.
- You are not expected to recite every code section from memory.
- You are expected to locate the right chapter and requirement within a limited time: roughly 1.8 minutes per question across 100 questions in 3 hours.
- Candidates who open the code for every question run short on time; candidates who know the structure answer many items from understanding and verify the rest.
- The Handbook's explanatory commentary is off the table, so you must be able to interpret the code text itself.
One common trap: studying from a different edition of the code. The exam reference is the 2012 edition, so the occupancy-specific requirements you practice with should come from that edition. Study materials built on a later edition can contain differences that cost you points.
Question Style: What a Passing Performance Looks Like
Every question is single-answer multiple choice. There are no multiple-select items and no hands-on components, which means your task on each item is to identify the one best answer under the code. A passing performance generally comes from three habits:
- Identify the occupancy first. Many health care questions hinge on whether the scenario involves a hospital, nursing home, limited care facility, or ambulatory health care occupancy, and whether it is new or existing construction. The wrong occupancy chapter yields the wrong answer.
- Find the governing section before reading the options. If you read the answer choices first, plausible-sounding distractors pull you off course.
- Watch for qualifiers. Exceptions, sprinklered versus unsprinklered conditions, and "new" versus "existing" language frequently decide the answer.
Because the scored/unscored split is undisclosed, you should answer every question as though it counts. Some items on your form may be unscored, but you will not know which, so there is no safe place to coast.
Attempts, Eligibility Windows, and Fees
The scoring picture is incomplete without the attempt rules, since they define the cost of falling short. According to the documents reviewed, you have a twelve-month eligibility period and up to three attempts. The initial fee is $499. Retest and renewal fees are unverified in current documentation, and a $180 renewal figure appears only on a September 2022 form, so do not budget around it without checking NFPA's current fee schedule.
Key Takeaway
Having three attempts is a safety net, not a plan. Because the cut score is unknown and retest fees are unverified, treat the first sitting as the one that counts, and use any unsuccessful attempt as diagnostic information about which domains to rebuild.
For the full financial picture, see CLSS-HC Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown, and for scheduling logistics see CLSS-HC Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.
Setting Your Own Passing Target
Since there is no official number, build a defensible internal standard. Here is a practical approach that does not pretend to know NFPA's cut score:
- Aim for consistent strength, not a minimum. Rather than targeting a score you hope is "enough," work until your practice results are strong and stable across several full-length timed sessions.
- Require a domain floor. Do not let any single domain stay clearly weak. A lopsided profile, such as excellent Protection but poor Operating Features, is riskier than a balanced one.
- Weight your review by the exam blueprint. Spend roughly proportional time to the domain weights, with extra attention to the 50% core of Protection and Means of Egress.
- Add time-pressure realism. Practice finishing 100 questions within the 3-hour window using only the permitted printed code, so navigation speed is part of your readiness measure.
You can pressure-test your readiness with the practice questions on our main practice test site, which are built around the six-domain structure.
A Domain-Ordered Preparation Plan
Generic scheduling advice is less useful than ordering your study by the blueprint. This timeline front-loads the domains that carry the most weight and that the rest of the code depends on:
Protection (28%)
- Work through barriers, smoke compartments, and opening protectives
- Cover detection, alarm, and suppression requirements for health care occupancies
- Learn how the defend-in-place concept shapes the rules
Means of Egress (22%)
- Drill exit access, exit, and exit discharge components
- Practice locating travel distance, corridor, and door provisions fast in your printed code
- Review new versus existing occupancy differences
Operating Features (16%) and Building Services (13%)
- Cover fire plans, drills, and staff procedures
- Review utilities, HVAC, and other building service requirements
General Requirements (11%), Special Provisions (10%), and Full-Length Practice
- Close gaps in the two smallest domains
- Sit at least one timed, open-book full-length simulation
- Revisit any domain where you were inconsistent
This is a template, not a requirement; adjust the pacing to your current exposure to the Life Safety Code. Our CLSS-HC study guide expands on resources and sequencing, and the CLSS-HC cheat sheet is useful for last-week review.
After You Pass: Renewal Points and Career Use
Passing is the start of a maintenance cycle. The credential renews every three years and requires 10 points, at least 7 of which must be training points. One contact hour equals one training point, which is not the same as one CEU, so be careful when converting course hours into renewal credit. Current renewal fees are unverified, so confirm them with NFPA before you budget.
The credential is aimed at people responsible for life safety compliance in health care settings: facility managers, safety and compliance staff, and others who must demonstrate fluency with the Life Safety Code in hospitals, nursing homes, and similar facilities. To explore how that translates into roles and pay, see CLSS-HC jobs, the CLSS-HC salary guide, and Is the CLSS-HC Certification Worth It?
Frequently Asked Questions
NFPA does not publish the passing cut score for the Certified Life Safety Specialist for Health Care Facility Managers exam, and the pass rate is not publicly disclosed. Any specific percentage quoted online should be treated as unverified. Prepare for broad competence across all six domains rather than a target number.
The exam has 100 single-answer multiple-choice questions to be completed in 3 hours. The split between scored and unscored questions is not disclosed, so you should answer every item as though it counts.
Yes, it is open book with the permitted printed code. The exam reference is the 2012 NFPA 101 Life Safety Code. The Life Safety Code Handbook is not permitted, and restrictions apply to tabs and inserts, so check NFPA's current handbook before annotating your copy. An on-screen calculator is available, but personal calculators are not allowed.
Protection (28%) and Means of Egress (22%) together account for 50% of the exam, so they deserve the most preparation time. The remaining four domains, Operating Features (16%), Building Services (13%), General Requirements (11%), and Special Provisions (10%), make up the other half and should not be neglected.
The documentation reviewed describes a twelve-month eligibility period with up to three attempts. The initial fee is $499, while current retest fees are unverified, so confirm costs with NFPA before scheduling a retake.