CLSS-HC logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CLSS-HC Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts

TL;DR
  • The exam is 100 single-answer multiple-choice questions in 3 hours, administered by NFPA through Prometric.
  • Protection (28%) plus Means of Egress (22%) equals 50% of the exam, so they deserve half your prep time.
  • The exam reference is the 2012 NFPA 101 Life Safety Code, not the current edition and not the Handbook.
  • The permitted printed code is allowed in the room, but tab and insert restrictions apply, so verify them before test day.

The Exam at a Glance

This is the one-page review for the Certified Life Safety Specialist for Health Care Facility Managers credential, offered through NFPA. If you want the full narrative on how to prepare, read the CLSS-HC study guide. This page is the compressed version: the facts you should be able to recite from memory before you sit down at the testing center.

ItemWhat to Know
Certifying bodyNFPA
Test deliveryPrometric
Questions100, single-answer multiple choice
Scored vs. unscored splitNot disclosed
Time limit3 hours
LanguageEnglish
Exam reference2012 NFPA 101 Life Safety Code
FormatOpen book with the permitted printed code
CalculatorNo personal calculator; on-screen calculator available
Passing cut scoreNot published by NFPA

Because NFPA does not publish the cut score or a pass rate, anything you read claiming a precise passing percentage should be treated skeptically. Our pages on the CLSS-HC passing score and the CLSS-HC pass rate explain what can and cannot be said responsibly.

Registration, Fees and Eligibility Facts

Eligibility

The baseline requirement is a high-school diploma or equivalent. There is no mandatory NFPA course, no minimum number of experience hours, and no reference count specified in the governing documents located for this program. That makes the credential accessible to newer facility staff, though accessibility is not the same as ease. See CLSS-HC requirements for the full eligibility picture.

Fees

The current initial fee is $499, and no member versus nonmember price difference has been verified. Current retest and renewal fees are unverified. A $180 renewal figure appears only on a September 2022 form, so do not budget around it as a confirmed current number. Check NFPA's current fee schedule at the time you apply. The CLSS-HC certification cost breakdown walks through how to plan for the unknowns.

Windows and Attempts

  • Eligibility window: twelve months from approval.
  • Attempts: up to three within that window.
  • Testing location: the program overview describes test centers; home proctoring has not been verified.

For scheduling mechanics, consult CLSS-HC exam dates and scheduling.

Budget Like a Three-Attempt Candidate: You have up to three attempts in twelve months, but retest fees are unverified. Plan to pass on attempt one, and confirm the current retest cost with NFPA before you ever need it.

Domain Weights: Where the Points Live

The exam covers six domains. The weights are the most useful numbers on this entire cheat sheet because they tell you how to allocate limited study hours.

DomainWeight
1. Protection28%
2. Means of Egress22%
3. Operating Features16%
4. Building Services13%
5. General Requirements11%
6. Special Provisions10%

The headline arithmetic: Protection (28%) plus Means of Egress (22%) equals 50%. Half the exam sits in two domains. Operating Features adds another 16%, bringing the top three domains to 66%. A candidate who is genuinely fluent in those three is in a strong position even if the remaining domains are only solid rather than polished. For a deeper treatment of each area, see the complete guide to all six CLSS-HC content areas.

Protection (28%): Must-Know Topics

Domain 1: Protection

This is the heaviest domain. It covers the systems and construction features that contain fire and smoke and alert occupants in health care occupancies.

  • Fire and smoke barrier requirements and how they create compartments in health care buildings
  • Protection of openings, including doors and penetrations through rated assemblies
  • Fire alarm and detection system requirements and when notification is triggered
  • Automatic sprinkler and other extinguishing system requirements
  • Interior finish and contents considerations

In a health care context, the recurring theme is defend-in-place. Patients often cannot evacuate quickly, so the code leans on compartmentation and suppression to keep occupants safe where they are. Questions in this domain frequently ask you to apply a rule to a described facility scenario rather than recite a definition, which is exactly why open-book navigation skill matters.

Means of Egress (22%): Must-Know Topics

Domain 2: Means of Egress

The second-heaviest domain deals with how people get out, or get moved to safety, when something goes wrong.

  • The three components of a means of egress: exit access, exit, and exit discharge
  • Capacity, width and travel distance concepts, and the vocabulary used to describe them
  • Doors, stairs, ramps and horizontal exits as egress components
  • Illumination and marking of means of egress
  • Dead-end corridors and common path concepts

Make sure you can distinguish the three egress components cleanly, because scenario questions often hinge on identifying which portion of the path is being described before you can find the correct requirement. Egress questions are also where candidates burn time paging through the code, so pre-marking your reference pays off here (see the open-book section below).

Key Takeaway

If you can only master two things, master Protection and Means of Egress. Together they are 50% of the exam, and both are heavily scenario-driven in a health care setting.

The Four Smaller Domains

The remaining four domains total 50% combined, which is far from trivial. Do not ignore them.

Domain 3: Operating Features (16%)

Operating features address what facility staff actually do, as opposed to what is built into the structure.

  • Emergency planning and staff response expectations
  • Drills and training requirements for health care staff
  • Fire watch and impairment-related operating concepts
  • Maintenance of life safety features as an ongoing duty

Domain 4: Building Services (13%)

This domain covers the utilities and mechanical systems that interact with life safety.

  • Heating, ventilating and air-conditioning concepts relevant to smoke control
  • Elevator and vertical transportation provisions
  • Electrical and other service-related requirements

Domain 5: General Requirements (11%)

The foundation material: applicability, definitions and classification.

  • How occupancies are classified and which chapters apply
  • Core definitions you will rely on throughout the exam
  • Equivalency and administrative concepts in the code

Domain 6: Special Provisions (10%)

The smallest domain, covering provisions that apply to particular building types or conditions.

  • Special structure and building-type provisions
  • Conditions that modify or add to the general rules

Note that General Requirements is only 11% of the exam but underpins everything else. A shaky grasp of classification and definitions will cost you time on questions in every other domain.

Open-Book Rules and Tab Strategy

This is an open-book exam, but with specific limits that candidates routinely misunderstand.

  • The permitted reference is the printed code. The Life Safety Code Handbook is not permitted.
  • The reference edition is the 2012 NFPA 101 Life Safety Code. Studying from a newer edition can lead you to wrong answers where the requirements differ.
  • Restrictions apply to tabs and inserts. Confirm the current rules in NFPA's handbook before you apply tabs, and do not assume a heavily annotated copy will be allowed.
  • You may not bring a personal calculator. An on-screen calculator is available.
Edition Trap: The most avoidable mistake on this exam is studying from the wrong edition of the code. Buy and practice with the 2012 edition specified for the exam, not whatever edition your facility currently uses day to day.

Open book does not mean easy. It shifts the skill being tested from memorization toward navigation and application. You still need to know where to look, and the exam is timed. Our CLSS-HC difficulty guide explains why open-book exams still trip up experienced facility managers.

Pacing and Question-Handling

You have three hours for 100 questions, which works out to roughly 1.8 minutes per question on average. Because the scored versus unscored split is undisclosed, treat every question as if it counts.

  1. First pass: answer the questions you can resolve quickly, using the code only when needed.
  2. Flag and move: if you cannot locate the relevant section within a couple of minutes, mark the question and move on.
  3. Second pass: return to flagged items with the time you saved.
  4. Final check: review any answer where you misread a qualifier such as "not" or "except."

Every question is single-answer multiple choice, so there is no partial credit and no select-all format to worry about. When two options look plausible, go back to the code text and find the exact wording instead of relying on your facility's local practice, which may differ from the code.

Domain-Ordered Study Schedule

Here is a compact way to sequence your preparation by domain weight. Adjust the length to your own timeline, and use the practice tests on the main site to check each stage.

Week 1

Foundations First

  • Read General Requirements material: classification, applicability, definitions
  • Learn to navigate the 2012 code and plan your tabbing within the allowed rules
Weeks 2-3

Protection

  • Work through barriers, openings, detection, alarms and suppression
  • Do scenario questions on health care occupancy requirements
Weeks 4-5

Means of Egress

  • Drill the exit access, exit and exit discharge distinctions
  • Practice locating capacity, travel distance and corridor provisions quickly
Week 6

Operating Features, Building Services, Special Provisions

  • Cover drills, planning, maintenance and utilities
  • Finish with a full timed practice exam and review weak domains

The logic is simple: General Requirements gives you the vocabulary, then the two heaviest domains get the most hours while your memory is fresh, and the remaining domains are covered before a full timed run-through.

After You Pass: Renewal Points

Certification renews every three years. To renew, you need 10 points, at least 7 of which must be training points. One contact hour equals one training point, which is not the same as one CEU, so do not conflate the two when logging education. Renewal fees are unverified at present, so confirm the current amount with NFPA instead of relying on older figures.

Knowing the renewal structure matters even before you test, because it affects whether the credential fits your long-term plans. For career context, see whether the CLSS-HC is worth it, the salary guide, and CLSS-HC jobs for who tends to hire for this skill set, primarily hospitals and other health care facilities that must demonstrate life safety compliance.

Frequently Asked Questions

How many questions are on the CLSS-HC exam and how long do I get?

The exam has 100 single-answer multiple-choice questions and a 3-hour time limit. The split between scored and unscored questions is not disclosed, so answer every question carefully.

Is the CLSS-HC exam open book?

Yes, with the permitted printed code, which is the 2012 NFPA 101 Life Safety Code. The Life Safety Code Handbook is not permitted, and restrictions apply to tabs and inserts, so verify the current rules before test day.

Which domains matter most?

Protection at 28% and Means of Egress at 22% together make up 50% of the exam. Operating Features adds 16%, then Building Services at 13%, General Requirements at 11%, and Special Provisions at 10%.

What does the exam cost?

The current initial fee is $499, with no member versus nonmember difference verified. Current retest and renewal fees are unverified, so confirm them with NFPA directly.

How do I keep the credential active?

Renew every three years by earning 10 points, with at least 7 being training points. One contact hour counts as one training point, not one CEU.

For a plain-language overview of the credential itself, start with what the CLSS-HC is, then use this cheat sheet as your final-week refresher.

Ready to pass your CLSS-HC exam?

Put this into practice with free CLSS-HC questions across every exam domain.