CLSS-HC logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

What Is CLSS-HC?

TL;DR
  • CLSS-HC here means Certified Life Safety Specialist for Health Care Facility Managers, administered by NFPA with testing through Prometric.
  • The exam has 100 single-answer multiple-choice questions, a 3-hour limit, and is open book with the permitted printed code.
  • The exam reference is the 2012 NFPA 101 Life Safety Code, not the Life Safety Code Handbook.
  • Protection (28%) and Means of Egress (22%) together make up half of the exam.

What the CLSS-HC Credential Actually Is

CLSS-HC stands for Certified Life Safety Specialist for Health Care Facility Managers. It is an NFPA credential aimed at people who keep health care occupancies compliant with life safety requirements. The exam is delivered through Prometric, and the knowledge base it tests is the Life Safety Code as it applies to hospitals, nursing homes, ambulatory health care centers, and related settings.

A note on terminology: several unrelated credentials in other industries use similar abbreviations. This article covers only the NFPA health care life safety credential. If you have landed here after searching variations of the name, our explainers on what CLSS-HC stands for and the CLSS-HC meaning go deeper on the naming.

What distinguishes this credential from a general safety certificate is its anchor document. Candidates are expected to navigate and apply NFPA 101, the Life Safety Code, in a health care context. That means the credential rewards code fluency: knowing where a requirement lives, how it is worded, and how it applies to a real building scenario.

Who the Credential Serves

The title says "Health Care Facility Managers," and that is the core audience. In practice, the people who benefit most are those whose daily work touches code compliance in patient-care buildings:

  • Facility and plant operations managers responsible for building systems, inspections, and survey readiness.
  • Life safety and environment-of-care coordinators who manage fire drills, interim life safety measures, and documentation.
  • Safety officers and compliance managers who answer surveyor questions about egress, fire protection, and smoke compartments.
  • Engineering and maintenance supervisors who carry out testing and inspection of fire alarm, sprinkler, and door assemblies.
  • Consultants and contractors who work on health care construction, renovation, or code gap assessments.

Employers in this space tend to be hospitals, health systems, long-term care operators, and outpatient facility groups, along with firms that advise them. For a closer look at the job landscape, see our overview of CLSS-HC jobs, and for earnings context, the CLSS-HC salary guide.

Exam Format and Testing Mechanics

The exam format is straightforward, which lets you spend your energy on content rather than guessing at structure.

ElementCLSS-HC Detail
Certifying bodyNFPA
Test deliveryPrometric
Number of questions100 single-answer multiple-choice
Time allowed3 hours
LanguageEnglish
Scored vs. unscored splitNot disclosed
Passing cut scoreNot published by NFPA
CalculatorNo personal calculator; on-screen calculator available
Exam reference2012 NFPA 101 Life Safety Code

Two items in that table deserve emphasis. First, NFPA does not publish the passing cut score, and it does not publicly disclose a pass rate. Anyone quoting a precise figure for either is not working from an official source. Our pages on the CLSS-HC passing score and CLSS-HC pass rate explain what is and is not known.

Second, the program overview describes test centers. Home proctoring has not been verified for this credential, so plan on a Prometric test center unless NFPA states otherwise at the time you register.

The Six Content Domains

The exam is organized into six domains with fixed weights. Understanding the weighting tells you where to invest your hours. For a deeper walk-through, see the full CLSS-HC exam domains guide.

DomainWeight
Domain 1: Protection28%
Domain 2: Means of Egress22%
Domain 3: Operating Features16%
Domain 4: Building Services13%
Domain 5: General Requirements11%
Domain 6: Special Provisions10%
The 50% Rule of Thumb: Protection (28%) plus Means of Egress (22%) equals 50% of the exam. If you are short on time, these two domains are where weakness costs you the most. Half the exam rests on fire protection systems and the paths people use to leave a building.

Domain 1: Protection (28%)

The heaviest domain covers the passive and active features that contain fire and smoke and limit its spread within a health care building.

  • Construction features, fire barriers, and smoke barriers, including how smoke compartments divide a patient floor
  • Protection of vertical openings and the treatment of doors and openings in rated assemblies
  • Detection, alarm, and communication systems and their health care specific requirements
  • Automatic sprinkler and other extinguishing system expectations
  • Interior finish and the ratings that govern wall and ceiling materials

Domain 2: Means of Egress (22%)

Health care occupancies often rely on defend-in-place strategies because many patients cannot evacuate unaided. This domain tests how egress components are sized, arranged, and kept usable.

  • Egress components: doors, corridors, stairs, exits, and horizontal exits
  • Capacity, travel distance, and dead-end limitations as applied to health care
  • Egress illumination, marking, and emergency lighting
  • Keeping egress routes unobstructed, including common corridor storage and equipment issues

Domain 3: Operating Features (16%)

These are the programmatic and procedural requirements that keep a building safe day to day.

  • Fire safety plans, staff response, and drills
  • Maintenance, inspection, and testing expectations for life safety systems
  • Smoking regulations and control of ignition sources
  • Housekeeping and management of hazardous conditions

Domain 4: Building Services (13%)

Mechanical, electrical, and utility systems that can help or hinder life safety during a fire.

  • Utilities and HVAC provisions related to smoke control and duct penetrations
  • Elevators, escalators, and conveying systems
  • Rubbish chutes, incinerators, and laundry chutes

Domain 5: General Requirements (11%)

The foundational chapters that frame how the rest of the Code is read.

  • Application, occupancy classification, and basic definitions
  • Building construction and the use of the Code's general provisions
  • Understanding how general rules interact with occupancy-specific chapters

Domain 6: Special Provisions (10%)

The smallest domain, but one that catches candidates who skip it.

  • Unusual structures and special occupancy conditions covered in the Code
  • Provisions that modify or supplement the standard requirements

How the Open-Book Format Changes Preparation

The exam is open book with the permitted printed code. That sounds like an advantage, and it is, but only if you treat it as a navigation exercise rather than a license to skip learning. With 100 questions in 3 hours, you have roughly 1.8 minutes per question on average. That is enough to look something up, but not enough to hunt through an unfamiliar document repeatedly.

  • The 2012 edition matters. The exam reference is the 2012 NFPA 101 Life Safety Code. A newer edition may have different numbering and requirements, so study from the 2012 text.
  • The Handbook is not permitted. The permitted resource is the printed code, not the Life Safety Code Handbook. The Handbook's commentary is useful for learning but will not be in the room.
  • Tabs and inserts are restricted. Rules apply to what you can add to your copy. Read the current candidate handbook before you spend time tabbing, so your preparation does not violate a restriction.
  • Only an on-screen calculator is available. You cannot bring a personal calculator, so be comfortable with simple calculations such as occupant load or travel distance using the tool provided.

Key Takeaway

Practice finding answers in the 2012 printed code under a clock. Knowing which chapter holds health care provisions, and how new versus existing occupancy sections are split, is faster than reading a section for the first time on exam day.

For a distilled review of the facts you should have memorized rather than looked up, our CLSS-HC cheat sheet is a useful companion.

Eligibility, Fees, and Attempt Rules

The entry bar is low compared with many professional credentials: a high-school diploma or equivalent is required. NFPA does not specify a mandatory course, an experience-hour minimum, or a reference count for this credential. That does not mean experience is irrelevant to passing, only that it is not a gate to sitting for the exam. Details are collected in our guide to CLSS-HC requirements.

ItemWhat Is Known
Initial fee$499 (current); no member versus nonmember difference verified
Retest feeCurrent amount unverified
Renewal feeCurrent amount unverified; a $180 figure appears only on a September 2022 form
Eligibility windowTwelve months
AttemptsUp to three
Education prerequisiteHigh-school diploma or equivalent
Confirm Fees Before You Budget: Only the $499 initial fee is currently verified. Retest and renewal amounts should be confirmed directly with NFPA, because the one renewal figure in circulation comes from a 2022 form. Our CLSS-HC certification cost breakdown tracks what is confirmed and what is not.

The twelve-month eligibility window and three-attempt limit shape your strategy. You have time to prepare, but not unlimited chances, so it makes sense to sit for the exam when your practice results are consistently solid rather than burning an attempt as a diagnostic. Scheduling specifics are covered in our exam dates and scheduling guide.

Keeping the Credential: The Three-Year Renewal Cycle

Certification is not permanent. The credential renews every three years, and renewal is point-based:

  • 10 points total are required in the cycle.
  • At least 7 must be training points.
  • One contact hour equals one training point. This is not the same as a CEU, so do not convert units when you log activity.

For working professionals, this is manageable because the same training that keeps you current on life safety topics generally supports renewal. The practical habit is to log qualifying education as you complete it rather than reconstructing it in year three. If you are weighing training options, see our notes on CLSS-HC training.

Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Domains

Because the weights are known, your calendar should be weighted too. This is one reasonable ordering, tied to the domain structure rather than to generic study advice. A fuller approach is in the CLSS-HC study guide.

Weeks 1-2

Orient Yourself in the 2012 Code

  • Learn the layout of NFPA 101 and where health care occupancy chapters sit
  • Cover General Requirements (11%) first, since it frames how everything else is interpreted
Weeks 3-5

Protection, the Largest Domain

  • Work through barriers, openings, detection, alarm, and suppression
  • Practice locating smoke compartment and door requirements quickly
Weeks 6-7

Means of Egress

  • Study capacity, travel distance, and egress components
  • Pair with Operating Features (16%), since drills and maintenance connect to egress upkeep
Week 8

Building Services and Special Provisions

  • Cover the remaining 23% of the exam
  • Run timed mixed-domain practice and review misses against the printed code

Adjust the length to your background. A facility manager who works with these requirements daily may compress this schedule, while someone newer to the Code may extend it. For timed practice questions that mirror the single-answer multiple-choice style, use the CLSS-HC practice test site. To gauge where you stand relative to the challenge, read how hard the CLSS-HC exam is.

Where the Credential Fits in a Career

The credential signals that you can interpret and apply the Life Safety Code, which matters in a field where surveyors, accreditors, and authorities having jurisdiction scrutinize compliance. For a facility manager, it can strengthen your standing when defending decisions about egress, barriers, and fire protection impairments. For consultants, it provides a recognizable proof of code competence.

Whether it is worth the cost depends on your role, employer expectations, and how much of your work involves code interpretation. We lay out the trade-offs in is the CLSS-HC certification worth it. For a broader overview of the credential itself, see the main CLSS-HC certification page. If you want to test your readiness against realistic questions, the practice exams are a good starting point.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does CLSS-HC stand for?

It stands for Certified Life Safety Specialist for Health Care Facility Managers, an NFPA credential focused on applying the Life Safety Code in health care settings.

How many questions are on the exam and how long do I have?

The exam has 100 single-answer multiple-choice questions with a 3-hour time limit, delivered in English through Prometric. NFPA does not disclose how many questions are scored versus unscored.

Is the exam open book?

Yes, with the permitted printed code. The exam reference is the 2012 NFPA 101 Life Safety Code, and the Life Safety Code Handbook is not permitted. Restrictions apply to tabs and inserts, so check the current handbook.

What is the passing score?

NFPA does not publish the passing cut score, and the pass rate is not publicly disclosed. Treat any specific number you see elsewhere with caution.

How do I keep the credential active?

Renew every three years by earning 10 points, with at least 7 being training points. One contact hour equals one training point, which is different from a CEU.

Ready to pass your CLSS-HC exam?

Put this into practice with free CLSS-HC questions across every exam domain.