- The current initial CLSS-HC exam fee is $499, administered by NFPA with testing through Prometric.
- Retest and renewal fees are unverified; the $180 renewal figure appears only on a September 2022 form.
- The exam is open book with a permitted printed 2012 NFPA 101 Life Safety Code, so budget for the book.
- You get twelve months of eligibility and up to three attempts, so a failed first try can multiply costs.
CLSS-HC Certification Cost 2026: The Short Version Before the Details
- The Short Version Before the Details
- The Exam Fee: What the $499 Covers
- Retest and Renewal Fees: What Is and Isn't Confirmed
- Costs Outside the Fee Schedule
- The Open-Book Code: Your Biggest Variable Cost
- How Eligibility Windows and Attempts Change the Math
- Maintaining the Credential: Points, Not Just Dollars
- Sample Budget Scenarios
- Spending Study Time Where the Points Are
- Getting Your Facility to Pay
- Frequently Asked Questions
Key Takeaways
- The current initial CLSS-HC exam fee is $499, administered by NFPA with testing through Prometric.
- Retest and renewal fees are unverified; the $180 renewal figure appears only on a September 2022 form.
- The exam is open book with a permitted printed 2012 NFPA 101 Life Safety Code, so budget for the book.
- You get twelve months of eligibility and up to three attempts, so a failed first try can multiply costs.
- Renewal every three years requires 10 points, at least 7 from training, and one contact hour equals one training point.
The Certified Life Safety Specialist for Health Care Facility Managers credential is administered by NFPA, and the exam is delivered through Prometric. For most candidates the sticker price is simple: the current initial fee is $499. What makes the total cost harder to pin down is everything around that number: the printed code you are allowed to bring, the cost of a second attempt if you need one, and the points you will need to collect to keep the credential alive.
This guide separates what is confirmed from what is not. Where a figure could not be verified from current NFPA documentation, we say so rather than guess. If you are still deciding whether the credential is a fit, our overview of what CLSS-HC certification is is a good starting point, and the ROI analysis picks up where this cost breakdown ends.
The Exam Fee: What the $499 Covers
The initial exam fee is $499. We could not verify any member versus nonmember price difference, so you should not assume a discount exists for NFPA members. Confirm at the time of registration whether any pricing distinction applies to you.
That fee buys you one exam application for a 100-question, single-answer multiple-choice test with a three-hour time limit, offered in English. NFPA does not disclose how many of those 100 questions are scored versus unscored, and it does not publish the passing cut score or a pass rate. Because of that, the fee is best understood as the price of a single, carefully prepared attempt rather than a gamble you can afford to repeat casually. For context on what NFPA does and does not disclose, see our pages on the CLSS-HC passing score and pass rate data.
Retest and Renewal Fees: What Is and Isn't Confirmed
This is where many cost articles quietly mislead readers. Current retest and renewal fees are unverified. The only renewal number we located is $180, and it appears on a September 2022 form. A fee printed on a document that old may not reflect what NFPA charges today, and we are not willing to present it as the 2026 renewal price.
Here is a practical way to handle the uncertainty:
- For your budget: Plan around $499 as a certain cost, and add a placeholder line for a retest and for renewal that you will replace with the real number once you confirm it with NFPA.
- For comparisons: Do not compare CLSS-HC's total cost to another credential using a retest or renewal figure that has not been verified for CLSS-HC specifically.
- For your employer: When you request funding, present the verified fee and note that ongoing fees will be confirmed before they are incurred.
Costs Outside the Fee Schedule
The exam fee is only part of what you will actually spend. These are the other categories worth tracking.
| Cost Category | What We Know | Budget Approach |
|---|---|---|
| Initial exam fee | $499, verified; no member/nonmember difference verified | Fixed line item |
| Printed 2012 NFPA 101 Life Safety Code | Required reference; the Life Safety Code Handbook is not permitted in the exam | Variable; depends on edition, condition, and seller |
| Tabs and inserts for the code | Restrictions apply to what you may attach | Small; confirm the rules before you tab |
| Calculator | No personal calculator; an on-screen calculator is available | No purchase needed |
| Retest fee | Unverified | Placeholder until confirmed |
| Renewal fee | Unverified; $180 appears only on a September 2022 form | Placeholder until confirmed |
| Training for renewal points | 7 of the 10 required points must be training | Varies widely; often employer-sponsored |
| Travel to a test center | Program overview describes test centers; home proctoring not verified | Depends on your distance from a center |
Note the last row. Because we have not verified home proctoring for this program, you should plan on testing at a Prometric center. If the nearest center is a long drive, factor in fuel, and possibly a hotel night before a three-hour exam.
The Open-Book Code: Your Biggest Variable Cost
CLSS-HC is an open-book exam, but only with the permitted printed code. The exam reference is the 2012 NFPA 101 Life Safety Code. The Life Safety Code Handbook is not allowed in the room, which matters for how you buy and prepare: the handbook's commentary is useful for learning, but it cannot be your exam-day crutch.
Two cost consequences follow from this:
- You are buying a specific edition. Because the reference is the 2012 edition, a newer or older edition of NFPA 101 is not a substitute. Verify the edition printed on the cover before you pay, especially if you are buying secondhand.
- Your copy becomes a working tool, not just a reference. You will tab, navigate, and practice with it for weeks. Since restrictions apply to tabs and inserts, learn the permitted rules first so you do not have to buy a second clean copy because yours was marked up in a way that is not allowed.
Key Takeaway
Buy the 2012 edition of NFPA 101 early and use it for every practice session. Fluency in finding provisions quickly is what turns an open-book format into an advantage, and you cannot build that fluency on a copy you receive the week before the exam.
How Eligibility Windows and Attempts Change the Math
Once your application is approved, you have a twelve-month eligibility window and up to three attempts within it. That structure has a direct cost implication: the first attempt is covered by the $499 fee, but any additional attempt may carry a retest fee, the amount of which we could not verify.
The expected cost of the credential therefore depends on how likely you are to pass on the first try. Candidates who underinvest in preparation to save money often end up paying more. A thoughtful preparation plan, built around the domain weights, is the cheapest way to avoid retest fees. Our CLSS-HC study guide lays out a first-attempt approach, and the difficulty guide explains why some candidates struggle despite open-book access. Scheduling details, including how to plan your attempts within the window, are covered in CLSS-HC exam dates.
Eligibility itself does not add cost: a high-school diploma or equivalent is required, with no mandatory NFPA course, no experience-hour minimum, and no reference count specified. That means there is no required prerequisite course fee to budget. Details on qualifying are in our CLSS-HC requirements article.
Maintaining the Credential: Points, Not Just Dollars
The credential renews every three years. To renew, you need 10 points, and at least 7 of those must be training points. The conversion matters: one contact hour equals one training point, not one CEU. If you have been mentally converting CEUs, stop; a CEU is a different unit and will lead you to over- or under-count.
So the real renewal cost has two parts: whatever fee NFPA charges (unverified; the $180 figure comes from a 2022 form), and the cost of acquiring the training hours. Seven contact hours of qualifying training over three years is a modest commitment for most facility professionals, and much of it can overlap with training you already do for your job, such as life safety code seminars, inspection and testing refreshers, or drill and evacuation planning sessions. Confirm with NFPA which activities count before you pay for them.
Sample Budget Scenarios
The scenarios below use only the verified $499 exam fee and flag everything else as variable. They are illustrations of structure, not price quotes.
| Scenario | Fixed Costs | Variable / Unverified Costs |
|---|---|---|
| Pass on first attempt, employer pays | $499 exam fee (employer-covered) | Code book if not supplied; renewal fee and training later |
| Pass on first attempt, self-funded | $499 exam fee | Code book, travel to test center, renewal fee and training later |
| Need a second attempt | $499 exam fee | Retest fee (unverified), additional travel, extra study materials |
| Third attempt needed | $499 exam fee | Two retest fees (unverified), travel, and a reassessment of your study plan |
Spending Study Time Where the Points Are
Money and time are linked: the less efficiently you study, the more likely you are to pay for a retest. The exam's content is weighted, and half of it sits in just two domains: Protection (28%) and Means of Egress (22%), which together equal 50%. Front-load those. The full breakdown is in our exam domains guide.
Protection (28%)
- Fire protection systems and features as they apply to health care occupancies
- Practice locating provisions in your printed 2012 code, timing yourself
Means of Egress (22%)
- Egress components, capacity, and arrangement in health care settings
- Work through scenario-style questions that require cross-referencing sections
Operating Features (16%) and Building Services (13%)
- Emergency planning, drills, and ongoing operational requirements
- Building services and how they interact with life safety
General Requirements (11%), Special Provisions (10%), and Review
- Cover the remaining domains, then take full 100-question timed practice sets
- Review weak areas and finalize your code navigation system
This eight-week sequence is a suggestion, not an NFPA requirement. The reasoning is simple: half the exam lives in the first two domains, so mistakes there are the costliest. A one-page recap of the highest-yield facts is available in the CLSS-HC cheat sheet, and you can pressure-test yourself on the CLSS-HC practice test site before you commit to an exam date.
Getting Your Facility to Pay
Many candidates are facility managers, life safety coordinators, or safety officers in hospitals and long-term care settings, roles where employers have a direct interest in code competence. If you are asking your organization to cover the fee, frame the request around risk and compliance rather than personal advancement.
- Lead with the verified number. A $499 exam fee is easy to evaluate. Note that ongoing costs will be confirmed before they are incurred.
- Connect it to survey readiness. The credential's content maps to the life safety topics facilities must manage daily, from protection systems to egress and operating features.
- Offer to share what you learn. Commit to briefing colleagues or updating your facility's life safety documentation after passing.
- Ask about training time. If the employer pays only the exam fee, ask whether renewal training hours can be counted toward work time.
To understand where the credential leads in practice, see our pages on CLSS-HC jobs and the salary guide. We do not quote salary figures here because no verified figure exists in our source material for this credential.
Before you spend anything, test your readiness with free questions on our practice test platform. Discovering a gap in Protection or Means of Egress during practice costs you nothing; discovering it on exam day costs a retest fee.
Frequently Asked Questions
The current initial fee is $499. We could not verify any member versus nonmember price difference, so confirm the amount at registration with NFPA.
The current renewal fee is unverified. A $180 figure appears only on a September 2022 form, so do not treat it as the 2026 price. Renewal also requires 10 points over three years, with at least 7 from training.
The exam is open book with the permitted printed code, and the exam reference is the 2012 NFPA 101 Life Safety Code. The Life Safety Code Handbook is not allowed, and restrictions apply to tabs and inserts, so check the rules before preparing your copy.
You have a twelve-month eligibility window and up to three attempts. The retest fee is unverified, so confirm it with NFPA before scheduling another attempt, and use the gap between attempts to focus on your weakest domains.
No mandatory NFPA course, experience-hour minimum, or reference count is specified; a high-school diploma or equivalent is required. That means no prerequisite course fee is built into the credential, though your own preparation materials and training for renewal points are separate costs.