CLSS-HC logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

What Is A CLSS-HC?

TL;DR
  • CLSS-HC here means Certified Life Safety Specialist for Health Care Facility Managers, issued by NFPA and tested through Prometric.
  • The exam has 100 single-answer multiple-choice questions, a 3-hour limit, and an open-book format using the permitted printed code.
  • Protection (28%) and Means of Egress (22%) together make up 50% of the exam.
  • The exam reference is the 2012 NFPA 101 Life Safety Code, not the Life Safety Code Handbook.

What a CLSS-HC Actually Is

A CLSS-HC is a professional who has earned the Certified Life Safety Specialist for Health Care Facility Managers credential. The certification verifies that a person can apply the life safety provisions of NFPA 101, the Life Safety Code, in the context of health care occupancies: hospitals, nursing homes, ambulatory surgical centers, and similar facilities where occupants often cannot protect or evacuate themselves.

That context is what makes the credential distinct. Health care buildings rely on a "defend in place" philosophy in many situations, because moving a patient on a ventilator or in an operating suite is not like emptying an office tower. The CLSS-HC exam rewards candidates who understand that philosophy and can locate the specific code language that supports a compliance decision.

A note on the acronym: Several unrelated credentials in other industries abbreviate to the same letters. Everything on this page refers only to the NFPA-issued Certified Life Safety Specialist for Health Care Facility Managers. If you have seen different fees, exam lengths, or issuing bodies elsewhere, you were most likely reading about a different certification. For other phrasings of this same question, see What Does CLSS-HC Stand For? and CLSS-HC Meaning.

Who Issues the Credential and Who It Is For

The credential is administered by NFPA, the organization that publishes NFPA 101 and the family of fire and life safety codes built around it. Exams are delivered through Prometric, the same testing network used for many professional certifications, which means you sit the exam at a proctored test center rather than submitting a portfolio or taking a take-home assessment. The program overview describes test center delivery; home proctoring has not been verified, so plan around a physical center.

The title says "Health Care Facility Managers," and that framing is deliberate. The people who get the most from this credential tend to be those who are accountable for the life safety program of a health care building, including:

  • Facility and plant operations managers in hospitals and long-term care
  • Life safety and environment-of-care coordinators
  • Safety officers who prepare for accreditation and survey readiness
  • Engineers, consultants, and inspectors who evaluate health care occupancies
  • Fire protection and code compliance staff working with health systems

For a closer look at the employer side, the article on CLSS-HC jobs covers the types of roles where the credential tends to matter.

How the Exam Is Built: Format and Question Style

The exam is straightforward in structure, even if the content is dense:

FeatureDetail
Number of questions100
Question typeSingle-answer multiple choice
Time allowed3 hours
LanguageEnglish
Testing providerPrometric
Scored vs. unscored itemsSplit not disclosed
Passing cut scoreNot published by NFPA

Three hours for 100 questions averages out to roughly 1.8 minutes per question. That sounds generous until you remember the exam is open book: many items are designed so that the answer lives in a specific section of the code, and finding it quickly is a skill you must practice. Candidates who know the structure of NFPA 101 cold finish comfortably; candidates who are reading the code for the first time in the exam room run short of time.

Because NFPA does not publish the cut score and has not disclosed a pass rate, any specific figure you see quoted online should be treated skeptically. We discuss what is and is not known on the pages about the passing score and the pass rate.

What the questions tend to ask

Because the exam is built on code application, expect scenario-flavored questions that ask what the code requires, permits, or prohibits in a given health care situation. Typical patterns include identifying a required feature for a particular occupancy, recognizing which exception applies, and distinguishing between requirements for new and existing construction. Questions are single-answer, so one option is the best-supported response under the referenced code edition.

The Six Content Domains, Explained

The exam content is organized into six domains. The weights below show where the questions concentrate, and the first two alone account for half the exam.

DomainWeight
Protection28%
Means of Egress22%
Operating Features16%
Building Services13%
General Requirements11%
Special Provisions10%

Domain 1: Protection (28%)

The heaviest domain. It covers the passive and active systems that keep a fire from spreading and that detect, alarm, and suppress it.

  • Fire and smoke barrier concepts, including how compartmentation supports defend-in-place
  • Protection of openings and penetrations in rated assemblies
  • Detection, alarm, and sprinkler system expectations in health care occupancies
  • Interior finish and related fire-spread considerations

Domain 2: Means of Egress (22%)

How people get out, or get moved horizontally to a safe area, when conditions demand it.

  • Components of egress: exit access, exit, and exit discharge
  • Capacity, travel distance, and dead-end considerations
  • Horizontal exits and the role of smoke compartments in patient movement
  • Doors, stairs, and special egress arrangements common in health care

Domain 3: Operating Features (16%)

The human and procedural side of life safety: what the facility must do day to day rather than what is built into the walls.

  • Fire safety plans and staff response expectations
  • Drills and training requirements
  • Maintenance and housekeeping practices that preserve protection features

Domain 4: Building Services (13%)

Mechanical, electrical, and utility systems and how they interact with life safety.

  • Smoke control and HVAC considerations
  • Emergency power and lighting concepts
  • Medical gas and related service hazards at a code-awareness level

Domain 5: General Requirements (11%)

The foundational provisions that frame how the rest of the code is applied.

  • Application, scope, and the distinction between new and existing buildings
  • Occupancy classification and how mixed use is treated
  • Definitions that change how a later requirement is read

Domain 6: Special Provisions (10%)

Requirements that apply to particular building types, features, or conditions beyond the baseline rules.

  • Provisions tied to specific building features or uses
  • Situations where the standard rules are modified or supplemented

For deeper coverage of each area, including how the domains interrelate, see the complete guide to all six CLSS-HC exam domains.

Open-Book Rules and the 2012 Code Edition

The open-book format is the single most misunderstood part of this credential. Candidates hear "open book" and assume the exam is easy. In practice, open-book exams shift the challenge from recall to navigation and interpretation. Here is what the governing documents establish:

  • The exam reference is the 2012 edition of NFPA 101, the Life Safety Code. If your facility operates under a newer edition, you still study and test against the 2012 text.
  • You may use the permitted printed code. The Life Safety Code Handbook is not permitted.
  • Restrictions apply to tabs and inserts in your reference. Read the current handbook rules before you tab anything, so your prepared book is not turned away on exam day.
  • You cannot bring a personal calculator, but an on-screen calculator is available during the exam.
Edition trap: Many working facility managers know the code through a more recent edition or through their accreditation requirements. Because the exam is anchored to the 2012 edition, a requirement you "know" from daily practice may differ from the 2012 answer. When a question and your experience disagree, the 2012 text wins.

The cheapest way to build speed is to annotate within the permitted rules and to practice locating provisions under time pressure. Our CLSS-HC study guide walks through a preparation approach, and the cheat sheet condenses the facts worth memorizing so you spend your open-book time on the questions that truly need it.

Eligibility, Fees, and Attempt Limits

Who can sit the exam

The baseline requirement is a high-school diploma or equivalent. NFPA does not specify a mandatory course, a minimum number of experience hours, or a required number of professional references. That makes the entry barrier lower than many peer credentials, though it does not make the exam itself easy. The full picture is in the CLSS-HC requirements article.

What it costs

The current initial exam fee is $499, and no difference between member and nonmember pricing has been verified. Retest and renewal fees are currently unverified. A $180 renewal figure appears only on a September 2022 form, so do not budget around it without confirming the present amount with NFPA. For the full cost picture, see the CLSS-HC certification cost breakdown.

The attempt window

Once you register, you have a twelve-month eligibility period and up to three attempts within it. That structure rewards a deliberate plan: schedule your first attempt when your domain preparation is solid, rather than burning an attempt as a diagnostic. Scheduling specifics are covered in CLSS-HC exam dates.

Keeping the Credential: Three-Year Renewal

The certification is renewed every three years through a points system. You need 10 points in total, and at least 7 of them must be training points. One contact hour of training equals one training point. Note that this is not one CEU per point, a common point of confusion when people convert between continuing-education unit systems and contact hours.

Practically, that means roughly seven hours of qualifying training over the three-year cycle, plus three more points from other qualifying activity. Track certificates as you earn them rather than reconstructing them at renewal time. For the broader training landscape, see CLSS-HC training.

Where the Credential Fits in a Health Care Career

The credential signals that you can read, apply, and defend decisions under NFPA 101 in a health care setting. That has value in several directions:

  • Internal credibility: When you tell leadership that a corridor modification triggers a code issue, a recognized credential strengthens the conversation.
  • Survey readiness: Facilities that undergo regular accreditation and regulatory surveys benefit from staff who can interpret life safety findings accurately.
  • Career mobility: Employers hiring for life safety, plant operations, and compliance roles often view a code-specific credential as evidence of focused expertise.

Whether it pays off for you depends on your role and market. We lay out the reasoning in Is the CLSS-HC certification worth it?, and earnings context is in the CLSS-HC salary guide. We do not quote specific salary figures here because NFPA does not publish them and unverified numbers help no one.

A Domain-Ordered Prep Sequence

Because the domain weights are published, you can sequence your study around them instead of reading the code front to back. Here is one way to order it for a roughly six-week plan; adjust it to your starting point.

Weeks 1-2

Protection and General Requirements

  • Start with General Requirements so occupancy and new-versus-existing logic is clear before anything else
  • Then work through Protection, the largest domain, with emphasis on barriers, detection, alarm, and suppression
Weeks 3-4

Means of Egress and Operating Features

  • Cover egress components, capacity, travel distance, and horizontal exits
  • Pair with Operating Features, since drills, plans, and maintenance explain why the egress rules exist
Week 5

Building Services and Special Provisions

  • Review smoke control, emergency power, and utility interactions
  • Cover the situation-specific provisions in Special Provisions
Week 6

Timed Open-Book Practice

  • Run full-length sets against the 3-hour clock using only the permitted reference
  • Mark weak provisions and tab within the allowed rules

Key Takeaway

Half the exam sits in Protection and Means of Egress. Make those two domains your strongest, then use open-book navigation skill to cover the remaining four. You can test your readiness with timed questions on the CLSS-HC practice test site.

If you are weighing how demanding the exam will feel, how hard the CLSS-HC exam is breaks down what trips candidates up. When you are ready to apply what you have read, the full practice exam library lets you rehearse the format.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does CLSS-HC stand for in this context?

It stands for Certified Life Safety Specialist for Health Care Facility Managers, a credential issued by NFPA and tested through Prometric. It is unrelated to other certifications that happen to share the same abbreviation.

Is the CLSS-HC exam really open book?

Yes, with limits. You may use the permitted printed code, which is the 2012 NFPA 101 Life Safety Code, but not the Life Safety Code Handbook. Restrictions apply to tabs and inserts, so check the current rules before exam day.

How many questions are on the exam and how long do I have?

There are 100 single-answer multiple-choice questions and a 3-hour time limit, delivered in English. NFPA does not disclose how many questions are scored versus unscored.

What is the passing score?

NFPA does not publish the passing cut score, and a pass rate has not been publicly disclosed. Be cautious of any specific number you see quoted without an official source.

How often do I have to renew?

Every three years. You need 10 points, with at least 7 being training points, where one contact hour equals one training point. Confirm current renewal fees with NFPA, as the amount has not been verified.

For a broader overview of the credential itself, you can also read our pages on CLSS-HC certification and what is CLSS-HC.

Ready to pass your CLSS-HC exam?

Put this into practice with free CLSS-HC questions across every exam domain.